Your vacation in Bulgaria
BG
ENG
DE
RU
PL
 
  About Bulgaria
  History
  Tourist Information
  Black sea Coast
  The Danube & Premountain
  Stara planina - The Balkan
  Vitosha & Struma
  The Roses valley & Thracia
  Rila & Pirin Mountains
  The Rhodopes

  100 National Objects
  Thracians Treasure
  Bulgarian's Monasteries
  World Heritage
  SPA Resorts
  Village Tourism
  Hunting and Fishing Tourism
  Ecological Tourism

  Sofia
  Varna
  Plovdiv
  Burgas

  Photo Gallery
  Map
  Contact us
Borovets, Musala Peak
Bansko, Razlog, Dobrinishte
Velingrad, Yundola
Kostenets, Dolna Banya
Belitsa, Yakoruda, Dobarsko
Samokov, Belchin, Govedartsi
Melnik, Rozhen monastery
Sapareva banya, Panichishte, Maljovitza

Belitsa (9000 жители) is 180 km from Sofia and 80 km from Blagoevgrad. The mild Mediterranean climate is therapeutic for people with lung diseases. There is a health school, during winter sledge ride with colorful rugs Belitsa guests to various tourist sites and Semkovo.

The first documentary evidence of settlement from the beginning of XVI century. In the second half of XVII century the proportion of the population was converted to Mohammedanism. During the Ilinden uprising (1903) the town was burned. Symbol of Belitsa the church, built in 1835, also burned in 1903 but was restored to more prominently immediately after the Liberation of the city after the Balkan war.

Today Belitsa developed as a tourist town, a center of eco-tourism and recreation year-round in Rila. The municipality enters into the National park Rila, is near the National Park Pirin, recognized as a world natural heritage. The Church of St. Demetrius, the oldest building in Belitsa (1716). Unique is atmosphere on the streets of the old neighborhood.

Dancing Bears Park is located in the 1130 meters altitude. The reserve is a project of the Austrian foundation "Four Paws" and Foundation Brigitte Bardot.

Yakoruda (6 000 inhabitants) is situated 80 km from the district center of Blagoevgrad, 30 km from Bansko and 40 km from Velingrad. The municipality is located Park Section Yakoruda, part of the Rila National Park. City is a starting point for the lakes in the highland area - Yakorudskite, Granchar and Ropalishkite. In Yakoruda crossed one of the main roads of the Roman Empire - Via Egnatia. Interest are the archaeological finds of prehistoric, ancient and medieval village, medieval church (V-VI century).

Relief of the municipality is mountainous and hilly - covering parts of Western Rila and Rhodope and narrow valley in the upper reaches of the river Mesta. The municipality and the park area Yakoruda, pass two of the main tourist routes in the Rila National Park. Yakorudskite lakes are 7 in number, are situated among circus. The highest is Blue lake below peak Dry vapa (2 465 m above sea level). Yakoruda passes through the picturesque narrow gauge railroad Septemvri-Dobrinishte, this is the highest station on the Balkan Peninsula Avramovo (1267 meters above sea level).

Semkovo (about 1600 m altitude) is a mountain resort among the spruce and pine forests 17 km north of Belica. Offers excellent opportunities for winter sports and summer mountain tourism. The resort is a base for the National Park Rila. Conditions for vacation here are different - hotels, holiday resort, comfortable bungalows, sports grounds, indoor swimming pool and others.

Semkovo in winter is a busy ski resort. Long and thick snow cover, 17 tracks of varying difficulty and length as well as numerous lifts attract lovers of winter sports. At the end of February, students, tourists and residents of Belitsa organize large winter-fiesta celebration.

Dobarsko is located on the southern slopes of Rila, with incredible views of three mountains - Rila, Pirin and the Rhodope and to the picturesque valley of the Mesta River. The most interesting and extremely well-preserved antiquity in village, and in the whole region is the church of St. Theodore Tyron and Theodore Stratiat, built in 1614. Dug deep into the ground, it will not even windows - only narrow openings like loopholes in the thick stone wall. The same year and icons dating back to the temple.

The frescoes are in 1672, they were originals. Nothing in the church is not restored, has done just refreshment. So now the icons and frescoes almost glow with their original luster. The Saints Theodore Tyron and Theodore Stratilat were Byzantine warriors, protectors of the Christian army.

The Church is Candlemas (1860) with a rich and precious wood-carved iconostasis, painted by representatives of the Bansko School. In the vicinity there are several chapels and consecrated grounds. The path to them is about an hour or two, in meadows and woods, discovering unique panoramic view. A visit can be combined with a picnic in the beautiful area.








 
2005-2010 BgTourInfo © All Rights Reserved